Chapter 18 – Answers

Wow! A witch.

I’ve been pacing around the house ever since Dana told me and I eventually settled at the table in the kitchen. My parents joined me, “So you’re both witches then?” I question.

The two of them nod in unison.

“Does Ellie know?” I whisper.

“No, she doesn’t and we don’t want her to know yet.” Says Dana.

“Ok,” I nod in agreement. “Is that why you leave her alone every so often, to go and do witchy things?”

They laugh and say “Yes.”

“We have a group of friends who meet once a month for a few days. We always make sure Ellie is safe and protected with magic before we leave. We all get to practice magic together and catch up.”Alex explains.

“Sounds good,” I smile.

I think about what I have done today and blurt out, “I hope you don’t mind that I just turned up here and asked you so many questions. I just didn’t know what else to do. I’d looked at your records in the library to find out about you but it doesn’t say anything.”

I look up at them.

“Hailey, we’re so happy that you decided to find us. We now have peace of mind knowing that you’re well and happy. As for our records, our supernatural side won’t be on there because we weren’t living here when we transformed.” Dana clarifies.

“Oh, right.”

“Is there anything else you’d like to know?”

“What’s it like? Being a witch.”

“It’s different for everyone,” says my father. “We enjoy it because it make us feel closer to mother nature and most of the spells are beautiful. But,” he warns, “Not all witches are good, however the bad witches choose that path for themselves. You will choose the path that is right for you.”

I let that sink in, I can’t imagine doing anything bad. “What’s the transformation like? Is it painful?” Wincing as I remember what Tyler told me about what he had to go through.

“No not at all,” reassures Dana. “It’s magical, you’ll see.”

 

I yawn loudly and clap my hand to my mouth quickly.

“Sorry, excuse me. It’s been a long day.”

“That’s ok, you’ve had a lot of information to take in.” Smiles my mother. “Have you got somewhere to stay tonight?”

I wasn’t planning on staying this long, I briefly thought about going back to the house but I remembered that the tenants who are renting it will be in there now.

I shake my head, “No, I’ll just get a room at a B&B.”

“Don’t be so silly,” laughs Dana. “You’ll stay here, no arguments. We have a spare room.”

“I couldn’t, I’ve already forced myself on you today.”

“Hailey, you are our daughter. You’re more than welcome to stay the night,” she squeezes my hand. “Come on I’ll get you the spare pillows and duvet.”

“Thank you so much,” I feel so touched by their kindness.

I turn to Alex, “Thank you for talking to me and making me welcome. I was so nervous this morning.”

“You’re welcome honey.” He wraps his arms around me and kisses me on the cheek. I look at him and smile, I see his eyes are as watery as mine. “Goodnight Hailey.”

I have to swallow several time before answering, “Night.”

 

“There you go sweetie, the bed’s all made up for you.” Dana smooths the duvet down. I spot that she’s left me a night shirt that’s draped over the chair. “If you need anything else just let me know, ok?”

“Ok and thanks again for letting me stay.”

“It’s no problem, sleep well.” My mother grabs me and hugs me so tight my breath escapes me, “It’s so good to see you again.”

“It’s good to see you too. Can I ask one more question?”

“Of course.”

“How come you came back to Moonlight Falls?”

I see a sadness fall on Dana’s face for a second and she hesitates before answering, “My mother fell ill, then died not long after. We came back for the funeral and decided we should stay and look out for my dad. Even though we’d had our ups and downs in the past I couldn’t bear to think of him being all alone.”

I gently squeeze her arm, “I’m so sorry.”

“Thank you, now sweet dreams sweetie, see you in the morning.”

 

I give Tyler a ring and recount everything that happened during the day. He’s happy I got the answers I’ve been looking for.

“I can’t wait to see you tomorrow, I’ve missed you.” I tell him.

“I’ve missed you too beautiful, not long now and you’ll be back in my arms.”

We hang up and I snuggle down into bed.

Surprisingly, although I’m in an unfamiliar bed and house, I fall asleep straight away and have one of the most peaceful nights sleep I’ve had in years.

9 comments on “Chapter 18 – Answers

  1. Jazen says:

    aww I’m glad that day went well. I wonder why they don’t want to tell Ellie yet. She needs to know and its better she’s prepared for it. I’m sure Haylie will choose the path of the good witch but I’m still worried about that other vamp. The one who wanted Tyler (forgetting her name right now). I think she’s gonna pop up at some point still. 😦 And there is the matter of why Haylie felt uneasy and watched in the first place. That still hasn’t been answered.

    • They’ll tell Ellie soon, they’re just waiting for the right time. It’s not something you can just blurt out and she’s only 16, they don’t want to worry her over something that’s not going to happen to her for another 5 years.
      Lyndi’s the other vamp and you’re right to be worried about her. She’ll be around again soon. The reason to why Hailey was uneasy in Mooonlight Falls will be answered soon. Be patient:) lol.

  2. 11daisies says:

    I’m so glad that they are happy to be with Hailey again! Now she understands more about her past and what she’s going to become. It has to be such a huge relief! No wonder she was able to sleep so well!

    Tyler is just so adorable! I love how he said, “not long now and you’ll be back in my arms again!” 😀 You know what a romantic I am! LOL

    Hailey doesn’t seem to feel too badly about becoming a witch. I hope the transformation won’t be as painful for her as it was for Tyler, but at least now she will have her parents to support her through the change. I wonder what Ellie will think about becoming a witch and the fact that her parents are witches!

    Looking forward to the next chapter, Clairey! I really enjoyed it! 🙂

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it:) That’s how I wanted it to come across, that she has been living with this not knowing and guilt because she thought it was because of her that they didn’t want her and after getting all these answers she could finally find some peace and sleep well. I’m glad you got that!:)
      Hailey’s quite a laid back girl and now she knows what she’s going to be she doesn’t have to worry. I think being a witch will suit her but I wonder which path she will choose?:)
      Tyler’s the best because Hailey’s in Moonlight Falls on her own I’m kinda missing him! I love that line too, I’m a hopeless romantic as well:)
      Thank you for reading, I don’t think I’m going to be very liked after the next few chapters though!:/

      • 11daisies says:

        I know it will still be good! Now I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen.
        I’ve been there before with my story too. LOL 🙂

  3. Awwww, I think it was so sweet for Dana to let Hailey stay the night. Hailey didn’t expect to talk to her parents, let alone for it to go well enough for her to stay longer than she planned. I think they are realizing how much they miss her, and after everything that’s happened, they are still a family. Gosh, now I’m wondering if Hailey and Dana will become close enough that Hailey will call her “mom”. I think it will be a very emotional moment for everyone.

    So now that we know her parents are witches and they practice the craft, I wonder if they’re going to help Hailey develop her powers when she gets them? It will be really interesting to watch them practice together and see what kinds of tricks they know. And what will Hailey use her powers on?

    “I’ve missed you too beautiful, not long now and you’ll be back in my arms.”

    Awww, how sweet is Tyler! I know he must be happy to hear that everything went well. But yes, Hailey needs to get back to her man soon. They got some “catching up” to do. 😛

    • Hailey was so surprised it went that well with her parents, They missed her and thought about her everyday, Hailey understands now that they did the best thing for her and that has put her mind at ease. That would definitely be an emotional moment if Hailey was to call Dan mom and Alex dad. It may not happen for a while though, they have a lot to learn about each other.
      All will be revealed with the witch powers:)
      Tyler’s the best! He was so happy for her that her meeting went well, he’s always known she’s deserved better than to think she was abandoned by them. They do have a lot of ‘catching up’ to do! lol!
      Thank you for reading and leaving a lovely comment!

  4. Mick says:

    I am so glad her biological parents have accepted her with open arms Hailey needs to know about her family it is going to be important to her future. Just have to say Tyler is awesome, so cute and kind they are perfect for each other

    • Aww thank you. Tyler’s the best! And he needed to be part of her life it wouldn’t have been right if he wasn’t. It was really good for Hailey to see her parents and be accepted so easily, it was definitely a weight off her shoulders. Thank you for reading and commenting:)

Leave a comment